Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of Castres

PAGES IN

the missionary life of the blue sisters in the world 

Sister Jennibeth Sabay reflects on the discovery of Christ in the poor on the occasion of the 5th World Day of the Poor. 

foto1 philipines
foto1 philipines

press to zoom
avec les pauvres
avec les pauvres

press to zoom
foto10
foto10

press to zoom
foto1 philipines
foto1 philipines

press to zoom
1/4

A nun, a member of the Sisters of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres, visits the poor in a slum in Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines.

In the personal notes of a French saint and founder of the Sisters of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres, Saint Emilie de Villeneuve (1811-1854) shared a subject of her meditation: "A good soul, very charitable, said to God when going to see a poor man who was in very bad shape: "My God, you are well hidden in this poor man but in any case I will do so that I will be able to find you in him."

  She expressed in one of her prayers: "Our spirit of faith makes us contemplate God alone in all things and all things in God alone".

Emilie dedicated her life to the service of the poor and suffering members of Jesus. It was especially in the faces of the poor, the lame, the criminals, the orphans and the women that she saw God. She left her social privileges, her family, relatives and friends to be close to the poor, to live, to work and to experience their feelings. She died of cholera in France in 1854, during an epidemic, after a lifetime of service to God's poor.

"The poor are always with us" (Mark 14:7) is the theme of Pope Francis' message for the 5th World Day of the Poor, which will be commemorated on November 14, 2021.

The World Day of the Poor has been observed on the 33rd Sunday in Ordinary Time since 2017. Pope Francis established it in “Misericordia et Misera,” an apostolic letter published on November 20, 2016, to mark the end of the Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy.

According to Pope Francis, the face of God revealed by Jesus is that of a Father concerned and close to the poor. "We see Jesus in the lives of the poor, in their sufferings and their needs, in the often inhuman conditions in which they are forced to live."

“The poor are true evangelizers, because they were the first to be evangelized and called to share the joy of the Lord and his kingdom,” Pope Francis said in his message.

He stressed the need for conversion, seeing the poor not as a "category" in need of specific charitable services, "but taking up the challenge of mutual sharing and commitment".

 

"Changing this way of thinking and taking up the challenge of mutual sharing and involvement in the lives of others, especially the poor."

In Saint John Paul II's encyclical, Centesimus Annus #28, it is also said "to abandon a mentality in which the poor - as individuals and as peoples - are seen as a burden, as troublesome intruders trying to consume what others have produced."

Indeed, for the poor, to the lack of material goods is added a lack of knowledge and training which prevents them from emerging from their state of humiliating subjection. (CA No. 33)

Pope Francis emphasized in his message that the poor know the suffering Christ through their suffering. They have a lot to teach us.

"The poor often teach us solidarity and sharing. Admittedly, they are people who lack certain things, often many things, including the bare necessities, but they do not lack everything, because they retain the dignity of 'children of God whom nothing and no one can take from them.

poor man's day - november 14, 2021

Nuns, members of the Sisters of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres, visit the poor in the slums of Manila, Philippines.

foto2 phi 02 barreta.JPG

According to the United Nations, the COVID-19 pandemic is having profound effects on poverty - increasing the number of people living or at risk of living in poverty and widening the gaps between rich and poor. Reduced income, unemployment, food insecurity, inadequate education, and increased domestic violence deepen poverty.

 

The pope underlined in his message “the urgency of offering concrete answers to those who are unemployed, whose number includes many fathers, mothers and young people.” Social solidarity and generosity are the most significant contribution at this time, he added.

He urged the faithful "to become aware of the needs of the poor, which are constantly changing, as are their living conditions..., to meet the poor personally where they are, to understand what they feel, what 'they live and what their heart desires.'

“Poverty should motivate us to creative planning, aimed at increasing the freedom needed to live a fulfilling life according to each person's abilities,” he added in his message.

Jesus is the first of the poor, the poorest of the poor because he represents them all. We don't find it when and where we want, but we see it in the lives of the poor, in their sufferings and needs, he said.

Many exemplary saints have made sharing with the poor their life plan. The pope mentioned the father (saint) Damien de Veuster (1840-1889), the apostle of the lepers who dedicated his life for them.

We are invited to give our lives for the service of the poorest of the poor, as Saint Emilie de Villeneuve said to her father, "it is for God that I leave you, I want to serve the poor."

As Christians, we are called to respond to the needs of our brothers and sisters, especially those who have the greatest needs and who demand the greatest response. May we see Jesus in the face of the poor.

(Jennibeth Sabay is a member of the Sisters of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres, a missionary congregation committed to the poorest of the poor).

Mission challenges us to accompany the poor in their struggles by Sister Jennibeth Sabay

foto3
foto3

press to zoom
foto4
foto4

press to zoom
foto14_edited
foto14_edited

press to zoom
foto3
foto3

press to zoom
1/4

Mission  of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception with children from disadvantaged neighborhoods at the Maison d'Emilie in Querzon City. (Photo of the mission in 2014).

Who are the poor? We all have different ideas of what the poor are; our ideas can be linked to our own life experiences.

Previously, when I heard the word "poor", I immediately thought of materially poor people.

I started to understand and discover that there are different concepts of poverty or being poor - including material, spiritual, emotional; or solidarity with them; or the poor as evangelizers.

Poverty is not always negative, but there is some poverty that is imposed, resulting from unjust structural systems that need to be critically examined and addressed.

We too have our ideas, our thoughts, our feelings and even our prejudices with regard to the poor.

God knows and hears the cry of the poor (Psalm 34:7) - especially those who are victims of unjust systems in society. It inhabits people whose situation can be considered hopeless in the eyes of society. God desires everyone to have life to the full (John 10:10), which includes freedom from all forms of injustice, suffering, violence and discrimination – so that each person is treated with respect and value. He continues to provide for the needs of his children, giving preference to those who need it most.

“Father, it is for God that I leave you. I want to serve the poor”. These were the words of Saint Emilie de Villeneuve, a French Catholic nun (and founder of my congregation), to her father when she told him of her desire to consecrate her life to God in the service of the poorest of the poor.

The fact that she saw and lived the situations of God's poor prompted her to make herself freely available to them. She wanted to be with the poor - the sick, prostituted women, prisoners - to show them, in her own way, that God loves them..

His passion was his love for God and his poor. She wanted not only to help them, but also to give her life for them, to treat them as equals, to restore their lost dignity as human beings, following the example of Jesus, whose heart was always turned towards the poor and the suffering. . 

I worked as a nurse in the provincial health office of my city in the Philippines for a few years before joining the Sisters of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of Castres.

Most of the people seeking help in our office were destitute and poor - those who could not afford to pay for their health care, who depended on free government services.

I was assigned to the animal bite treatment center, where I administered rabies injections to poor people in provinces who could not afford to pay in hospitals.

While helping the National Tuberculosis Control Program in the office, I also saw that the poor were the most severely affected by most infectious diseases. It is a sad reality that their living conditions and their poverty contribute to their state of health.

mission: children's ministry

Mission with underprivileged children and families - Children's ministry.

foto4.JPG

Now belonging to a missionary congregation committed to the poorest of the poor, I had the opportunity to experience being with the poor in different regions. These experiences allowed me to see more clearly the different faces of poverty: malnutrition, unemployment, homelessness, inhuman living conditions, diseases and other conditions that threaten all aspects of human life.

One of the mission areas of the sisters of the Pag-asa community CROP.jpg Mindanao Avenue, Barangay Pag-asa, Quezon City, Philippines, in 2019 (Lady Anne Cardoso)Mindanao Avenue, Barangay Pag-asa, Quezon City, Philippines, in 2019 (Lady Anne Cardoso)

 

Seeing these unfortunate realities opened my eyes, gave me perspective, raised my awareness, and then God pointed me down this path. 

My encounters with families and children in shantytowns or depressed places in our mission areas also made me aware of the evangelizing power of the poor. I see in them hope, joy, gratitude and faith in God - despite their suffering and difficulties.

As Evangelii Gaudium points out, "I am a mission on this earth; that is why I am here in this world. We must consider ourselves sealed, even branded, by this mission to bring light , to bless, to enliven, to uplift, to heal and to liberate."

As followers of Jesus, we are challenged to accompany the poor in their struggles, to hear their cries and needs, to empower them and bring out the best in them, despite their circumstances, and to accompany them in their quest for justice.

Everyone is poor, in the sense that everyone needs to be connected to God, who is the source of everything. Each of us has something to give and each of us has needs to be met. As in the breath, we absorb and we emit.

We must recognize ourselves as part of the whole body of Jesus, the church, which is a church of the poor. We welcome our immolation and let ourselves be immersed in reality and transformed to have a heart like Jesus, a heart for the poor. We are also invited to make our life a testimony of what the kingdom of God is.

 
bande bm maison mere modele 2.jpg

GENERAL HOUSE

Via Vincenzo Viara de Ricci, 24

00168 ROMA  Such. +39 06 305 1863

WEBMASTER

5 rue du Louvre  06500 MENTON

+33 6 62 89 69 39

ecusson esp bleu petit++ tranparent.png

sœurs de l'immaculée conception de castres

Merci ! 

Accompagne- nous  dans Instagram  @ciccastres

Sœurs de l'Immaculée Conception de Castres

PAGES EN

la vie missionnaire des soeurs bleues dans le monde 

 

Sœur Jennibeth Sabay réfléchit sur la découverte du Christ dans les pauvres à l'occasion de la 5ème Journée Mondiale des Pauvres. 

foto1 philipines
foto1 philipines

press to zoom
avec les pauvres
avec les pauvres

press to zoom
foto10
foto10

press to zoom
foto1 philipines
foto1 philipines

press to zoom
1/4

Une religieuse, membre des Sœurs de Notre-Dame de l'Immaculée Conception de Castres, rend visite aux pauvres dans un bidonville de Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines.

Dans les notes personnelles d'une sainte française et fondatrice des Sœurs de Notre-Dame de l'Immaculée Conception de Castres, Sainte Emilie de Villeneuve (1811- 1854) a partagé un sujet de sa méditation : "Une bonne âme, très charitable, disait à Dieu en allant voir un pauvre qui allait très mal : "Mon Dieu, vous êtes bien caché dans ce pauvre mais de toute façon je ferai de telle sorte que je saurai vous trouver en lui."

 Elle a exprimé dans une de ses prières : "Notre esprit de foi nous fait contempler Dieu seul en toutes choses et toutes choses en Dieu seul".

Émilie a consacré sa vie au service des membres pauvres et souffrants de Jésus. C'est surtout dans le visage des pauvres, des boiteux, des criminels, des orphelins et des femmes qu'elle voyait Dieu. Elle a quitté ses privilèges sociaux, sa famille, ses proches et ses amis pour être près des pauvres, vivre, travailler et éprouver leurs sentiments. Elle est morte du choléra en France en 1854, en période d'épidémie, après une vie entière au service des pauvres de Dieu.

"Les pauvres sont toujours avec nous" (Marc 14:7) est le thème repris dans le message du Pape François pour la 5ème Journée Mondiale des Pauvres, qui sera commémorée le 14 novembre 2021.

La Journée mondiale des pauvres est observée le 33e dimanche du temps ordinaire depuis 2017. Le pape François l'a instaurée dans " Misericordia et Misera ", une lettre apostolique publiée le 20 novembre 2016, pour marquer la fin du Jubilé extraordinaire de la miséricorde.

Selon le pape François, le visage de Dieu révélé par Jésus est celui d'un Père préoccupé et proche des pauvres. "Nous voyons Jésus dans la vie des pauvres, dans leurs souffrances et leurs besoins, dans les conditions souvent inhumaines dans lesquelles ils sont obligés de vivre."

"Les pauvres sont de véritables évangélisateurs, car ils ont été les premiers à être évangélisés et appelés à partager la joie du Seigneur et son royaume", a déclaré le pape François dans son message.

Il a souligné la nécessité d'une conversion, en considérant les pauvres non pas comme une "catégorie" ayant besoin de services caritatifs spécifiques, "mais en relevant le défi du partage et de l'engagement mutuels".

 

"Changer cette façon de penser et relever le défi du partage mutuel et de l'implication dans la vie des autres, en particulier des pauvres."

Dans l'encyclique de saint Jean-Paul II, Centesimus Annus # 28, il est également dit "d'abandonner une mentalité dans laquelle les pauvres - en tant qu'individus et en tant que peuples - sont considérés comme un fardeau, comme des intrus gênants essayant de consommer ce que les autres ont produit."

En effet, pour les pauvres, au manque de biens matériels s'est ajouté un manque de connaissances et de formation qui les empêche de sortir de leur état de sujétion humiliante. (CA N° 33)

Le pape François a souligné dans son message que les pauvres connaissent le Christ souffrant à travers leurs souffrances. Ils ont beaucoup à nous apprendre.

"Les pauvres nous enseignent souvent la solidarité et le partage. Certes, ce sont des personnes qui manquent de certaines choses, souvent de beaucoup de choses, y compris du strict nécessaire, mais elles ne manquent pas de tout, car elles conservent la dignité d'enfants de Dieu que rien ni personne ne peut leur enlever."

la journée du pauvre - 14 novembre 2021

Les religieuses, membres des Sœurs de Notre-Dame de l'Immaculée Conception de Castres, rendent visite aux pauvres dans les bidonvilles de Manila, Philippines.

foto2 phi 02 barreta.JPG

Selon les Nations unies, la pandémie de COVID-19 a des effets profonds sur la pauvreté - augmentant le nombre de personnes vivant ou risquant de vivre dans la pauvreté et creusant les écarts entre riches et pauvres. La réduction des revenus, le chômage, l'insécurité alimentaire, l'éducation inadéquate et l'augmentation de la violence domestique aggravent la pauvreté.

 

Le pape a souligné dans son message "l'urgence d'offrir des réponses concrètes à ceux qui sont au chômage, dont le nombre comprend beaucoup de pères, de mères et de jeunes." La solidarité sociale et la générosité sont la contribution la plus significative en ce moment, a-t-il ajouté.

Il a exhorté les fidèles "à prendre conscience des besoins des pauvres, qui changent sans cesse, tout comme leurs conditions de vie..., à rencontrer personnellement les pauvres là où ils se trouvent, à comprendre ce qu'ils ressentent, ce qu'ils vivent et ce que leur cœur désire."

"La pauvreté doit nous motiver à une planification créative, visant à accroître la liberté nécessaire pour vivre une vie épanouie selon les capacités de chacun", a-t-il ajouté dans son message.

Jésus est le premier des pauvres, le plus pauvre des pauvres car il les représente tous. Nous ne le trouvons pas quand et où nous voulons, mais nous le voyons dans la vie des pauvres, dans leurs souffrances et leurs besoins, a-t-il dit.

De nombreux saints exemplaires ont fait du partage avec les pauvres leur projet de vie. Le pape a mentionné le père (saint) Damien de Veuster (1840-1889), l'apôtre des lépreux qui a consacré sa vie pour eux.

Nous sommes invités à donner notre vie pour le service des plus pauvres des pauvres comme le disait Sainte Emilie de Villeneuve à son père, "c'est pour Dieu que je te quitte, je veux servir les pauvres."

En tant que chrétiens, nous sommes appelés à répondre aux besoins de nos frères et sœurs, en particulier ceux qui ont les plus grands besoins et qui exigent la plus grande réponse. Puissions-nous voir Jésus dans le visage des pauvres.

(Jennibeth Sabay est membre des Sœurs de Notre-Dame de l'Immaculée Conception de Castres, une congrégation missionnaire engagée auprès des plus pauvres des pauvres).

La mission nous met au défi d'accompagner les pauvres dans leurs luttes par sœur Jennibeth Sabay

foto3
foto3

press to zoom
foto4
foto4

press to zoom
foto14_edited
foto14_edited

press to zoom
foto3
foto3

press to zoom
1/4

Mission  des Soeurs de l'Immaculée Conception avec des enfants issus de quartiers défavorisés à la Maison d'Emilie à Querzon City. (Foto de la mission en 2014).

Qui sont les pauvres ? Nous avons tous des idées différentes sur ce que sont les pauvres ; nos idées peuvent être liées à nos propres expériences de vie.

Auparavant, lorsque j'entendais le mot "pauvre", je pensais immédiatement aux personnes matériellement pauvres.

J'ai commencé à comprendre et à découvrir qu'il existe différents concepts de la pauvreté ou du fait d'être pauvre - y compris matériel, spirituel, émotionnel ; ou la solidarité avec eux ; ou les pauvres comme évangélisateurs.

La pauvreté n'est pas toujours négative, mais il y a une certaine pauvreté qui est imposée, résultant de systèmes structurels injustes qui doivent être examinés et traités de manière critique.

Nous avons nous aussi nos idées, nos pensées, nos sentiments et même nos préjugés à l'égard des pauvres.

Dieu connaît et entend le cri des pauvres (Psaume 34 : 7) - en particulier ceux qui sont victimes de systèmes injustes dans la société. Il habite les personnes dont la situation peut être considérée comme désespérée aux yeux de la société. Dieu désire que chacun ait la vie en plénitude (Jean 10 : 10), ce qui implique d'être libéré de toute forme d'injustice, de souffrance, de violence et de discrimination - afin que chaque personne soit considérée avec respect et valeur. Il continue à pourvoir aux besoins de ses enfants, en donnant la préférence à ceux qui en ont le plus besoin.

"Père, c'est pour Dieu que je te laisse. Je veux servir les pauvres". Tels furent les mots de sainte Émilie de Villeneuve, religieuse catholique française (et fondatrice de ma congrégation), à son père lorsqu'elle lui fit part de son désir de consacrer sa vie à Dieu au service des plus pauvres des pauvres.

Le fait qu'elle ait vu et vécu les situations des pauvres de Dieu l'a incitée à se rendre librement disponible pour eux. Elle voulait être avec les pauvres - les malades, les femmes prostituées, les prisonniers - pour leur montrer, à sa manière, que Dieu les aime.

Sa passion était son amour pour Dieu et ses pauvres. Elle voulait non seulement les aider, mais aussi donner sa vie pour eux, les traiter comme des égaux, leur rendre leur dignité perdue d'êtres humains, à l'exemple de Jésus, dont le cœur était toujours tourné vers les pauvres et les souffrants. 

J'ai travaillé comme infirmière dans le bureau de santé provincial de ma ville aux Philippines pendant quelques années avant de rejoindre les Sœurs de Notre-Dame de l'Immaculée Conception de Castres.

La plupart des personnes qui demandaient de l'aide dans notre bureau étaient des indigents et des pauvres - ceux qui n'avaient pas les moyens de payer leurs soins de santé, qui dépendent des services gratuits du gouvernement.

J'ai été affecté au centre de traitement des morsures d'animaux, où j'ai administré des injections antirabiques aux habitants pauvres des provinces qui n'avaient pas les moyens de payer dans les hôpitaux.

En aidant le programme national de lutte contre la tuberculose au bureau, j'ai également pu constater que les pauvres étaient les plus gravement touchés par la plupart des maladies infectieuses. C'est une triste réalité que leurs conditions de vie et leur pauvreté contribuent à leur état de santé.

mission : pastorale des enfants

Mission auprès des enfants et des familles défavorisées - Pastorale des enfants.

foto4.JPG

Appartenant maintenant à une congrégation missionnaire engagée auprès des plus pauvres des pauvres, j'ai eu l'occasion de faire l'expérience d'être avec les pauvres dans différentes régions. Ces expériences m'ont permis de voir plus clairement les différents visages de la pauvreté : malnutrition, chômage, sans-abris, conditions de vie inhumaines, maladies et autres conditions qui menacent tous les aspects de la vie humaine.

L'un des domaines de mission des sœurs de la communauté de Pag-asa CROP.jpg Mindanao Avenue, Barangay Pag-asa, Quezon City, Philippines, en 2019 (Lady Anne Cardoso)Avenue Mindanao, Barangay Pag-asa, Quezon City, Philippines, en 2019 (Lady Anne Cardoso)

 

Voir ces réalités malheureuses m'a ouvert les yeux, m'a donné une perspective, a élevé ma conscience, puis Dieu m'a dirigée vers ce chemin. 

Mes rencontres avec les familles et les enfants des bidonvilles ou des lieux déprimés de nos zones de mission m'ont fait prendre conscience, aussi, du pouvoir évangélisateur des pauvres. Je vois en eux l'espoir, la joie, la gratitude et la foi en Dieu - malgré leurs souffrances et leurs difficultés.

Comme le souligne Evangelii Gaudium, "Je suis une mission sur cette terre ; c'est la raison pour laquelle je suis ici dans ce monde. Nous devons nous considérer comme scellés, voire marqués au fer rouge, par cette mission d'apporter la lumière, de bénir, de vivifier, d'élever, de guérir et de libérer."

En tant que disciples de Jésus, nous sommes mis au défi d'accompagner les pauvres dans leurs luttes, d'entendre leurs cris et leurs besoins, de les rendre autonomes et de faire ressortir le meilleur d'eux-mêmes, malgré leur situation, et de les accompagner dans leur quête de justice.

Tout le monde est pauvre, dans le sens où tout le monde a besoin d'être connecté à Dieu, qui est la source de tout. Chacun d'entre nous a quelque chose à donner et chacun d'entre nous a des besoins à satisfaire. Comme dans la respiration, nous absorbons et nous émettons.

Nous devons nous reconnaître comme faisant partie de l'ensemble du corps de Jésus, l'église, qui est une église des pauvres. Nous accueillons notre immolation et nous nous laissons immerger dans la réalité et transformer pour avoir un cœur comme Jésus, un cœur pour les pauvres. Nous sommes également invités à faire de notre vie un témoignage de ce qu'est le royaume de Dieu.

 
 
bande bm maison mere modele 2.jpg

Accompagne- nous  dans Instagram  @ciccastres

Ne manquez jamais rien

sœurs de l'immaculée conception de castres

MAISON GENERALE

Via Vincenzo Viara de Ricci, 24

00168 ROMA  Tél. +39 06 305 1863

WEBMASTER

5 rue du Louvre  06500  MENTON

+33 6 62 89 69 39

ecusson esp bleu petit++ tranparent.png

Merci !